University of Colorado

United States

About University of Colorado

Founded in 1876 with a campus in Boulder, the University of Colorado includes three unique campuses, CU-Boulder, CU-Colorado Springs, and CU-Denver and Health Sciences Center. The campuses offer more than 300 degree programs. The University of Colorado is recognized as a national leader in teaching and research excellence.university_of_colorado1.jpg

In Fall 2006, the total student headcount enrollment among CU’s three campuses was about 52,200, 77 percent were Colorado residents. CU-Boulder 29.935; CU-Colorado Springs 7,581; CU-Denver and Health Sciences Center 15,229.

CU awarded a total of 13,004 degrees in FY 2006 (8,625 baccalaureate; 3,465 masters; 394 doctorate; and 520 first professional).

Approximately 64 percent (2,621) of CU’s total regular instructional faculty (4,083) are tenured or on tenure-track appointments.

university_of_colorado2.jpgIn FY 2005, CU garnered $640 million in sponsored research awards. In FY 2005, NSF ranked CU sixth among all public universities in the U.S. in federal research expenditures. The university’s three-campus system has maintained its position in the top ten percent of universities in the United States in the latest rankings by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on federal and non-federal research expenditures. A placement it has held for the last five years. It is also the top ranked public university in federally financed research in environmental sciences and the third ranked in federally financed research in physical sciences.

Some noteworthy honors and awards earned by CU faculty include: four Nobel Laureates; seven MacArthur fellowships in recognition of the faculty member’s exceptionally creative work; and the Carnegie Foundation’s Professor of the Year.

89 jobs with University of Colorado

Sign up for job alerts
Sign up for job alerts