Daytona State College

Daytona Beach FL 32114
United States

Over the past 50-plus years, Daytona State College has evolved from a small campus into an academically superior multi-campus institution providing educational and cultural programs for the citizens of Volusia and Flagler counties. It began in 1957 when the Florida Legislature authorized Daytona Beach Junior College as one of the state's first comprehensive colleges. The college was divided into three divisions: college credit, adult education and the Mary Karl Vocational School. Although the three divisions were administered by one president, they essentially functioned as separate entities under the Volusia County School System.

Volusia County Community College, also a separate entity under the school system, merged with DBJC in 1965. The 1968 Legislature combined the divisions into a single administrative unit under a District Board of Trustees independent of the county school system. In 1971, the official name of the college was changed from Daytona Beach Junior College to Daytona Beach Community College. In 2008, the District Board of Trustees and the state of Florida approved the college's request for yet another name change - Daytona State College. This was done to reflect the institution’s transition to a four-year institution offering workforce baccalaureate degrees.

Daytona State's status as a four-year college began in 2006, when it offered its first bachelor's degree - the Bachelor of Applied Science in Supervision and Management. In spring 2009, the college began offering Bachelor of Science in Education degrees and, in fall 2010, the Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology. Additional baccalaureate level programs and articulation agreements are being planned for future implementation to support the region’s economic development and workforce needs.

Over the years, the college has fostered a tradition of excellence in academics and service to a growing community. A leader in the area's workforce and economic development initiatives, Daytona State is continually developing new means to deliver educational services to the community. The college now serves more than 35,000 students annually.

Daytona State College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and bachelor’s degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Daytona State College.

Mission Statement

Daytona State College, a comprehensive public college, provides access to a range of flexible programs from community enrichment to the baccalaureate degree, emphasizing student success, embracing excellence and diversity, as well as fostering innovation to enhance teaching and learning.

College President

Carol W. Eaton, Ph.D
District Board of Trustees
  • Dr. Christina Frederick-Recascino
  • Mr. Bob Davis
  • Mr. Lloyd J. Freckleton – Vice Chair
  • Mrs. Mary Ann Haas – Chairperson
  • Mrs. Betty J. Holness
  • Mrs. Forough B. Hosseini
  • Mr. Brad S. Giles
  • Mr. Stan Escudero
  • Mr. Garry Lubi

General Area Information

Volusia County
More than 500,000 people call Volusia County home. Situated on the east coast of Central Florida, our 47 miles of Atlantic Ocean beaches are a world-class playground, with beachfront cities including Daytona Beach, Ormond Beach and New Smyrna Beach.

Water sports are plentiful, but Volusia's oceanfront communities are most famous for land sports. Early automotive pioneers such as Louis Chevrolet and Henry Ford enjoyed their leisure time in the sun and found that the hard packed sand, gentle slope and wide expanse of Volusia's beach was the perfect proving ground for early auto racing. Ormond Beach, in fact, is known as the "Birthplace of Speed."

The racing tradition continues today at Daytona International Speedway, one of the world's finest racing facilities and the home of the world-famous Daytona 500, an event larger than the Super Bowl.

The scenic St. Johns River, famed for its bass fishing, links magnificent parks with wildlife preserves along the County's western border. True Southern charm can be found in DeLand, the County seat. This unique city features an award-winning downtown filled with antique shops and quaint restaurants, surrounded by stately historic homes and buildings.

Volusia County also is the headquarters of the Ladies Professional Golf Association, the summer home of the London Symphony Orchestra and the winter refuge of the endangered Florida manatee.

Volusia County is about an hour's drive north of Disney World and the Kennedy Space Center. It's also within a few hours drive of other major Florida communities, such as Tampa (139 miles), Miami (253 miles), or Jacksonville (89 miles).

Volusia County consists of 1,207 square miles. Elevation begins at sea level and rises to a high elevation of 110 feet.

Flagler County
Nestled between Daytona Beach and St. Augustine, Flagler County was passed by in the rush to develop Florida and is a haven from the pressures of the world. Come and enjoy our safe and majestic surroundings – steeped in a rich history there are corners of Flagler were it seems that time has been forgotten. Slow moving creeks shaded in a canopy of trees, salt marshes harboring birds and sea life and 19 miles of beaches with quaint beachside communities where you can still find solitude, all preserved for your enjoyment.

Leisure activities are in abundance in Flagler from canoeing, hiking, bird watching, tennis, bike riding, fresh and salt-water fishing and an amazing 165 holes of golf, Flagler County is the avid golfers paradise. Whether you choose to drink in the natural surroundings, surrender to the serenity of our beaches or enjoy a round of golf, it is time to relax on the quiet side of Florida.

Back to Top